Home Anime Watch News Forums Sign In

Natsume Yuujinchou [TV]

Natsume Yuujinchou
Plot Summary

For as long as he can remember, Takashi Natsume has had the supernatural ability to interact spirits, a power he had inherited from his grandmother Reiko Natsume. Due to this strange power, Takashi had been ostracized by the other kids, and he was passed from one relative to another. Upon Reiko’s death, she left her grandson one last gift – the Book of Friends. Powerful and highly prized in the spirit world, the Book of Friends is constantly hunted both by good and evil spirits, and consequently, Takashi.

With a spiritual bodyguard and advisor called Nyanko-sensei by his side, Takashi vows to dissolve the contracts found in the Book of Friends and free the bounded spirits.

About the Show

Natsume’s Book of Friends is an anime adaptation of the supernatural manga series under the same name, created by Yuki Midorikawa. Produced by studio Brain’s Base under the direction of Takahiro Omori, Natsume’s Book of Friends aired a total of 74 episodes between July 7, 2008 and June 21, 2017.


Takashi Natsume (Main Protagonist)
Takashi’s parents died when he was still a child, leaving him to the care of distant relatives. However, due to the strange behavior related to his ability to interact with spirits, he is passed from one relative to one another, and found it hard to make friends with the other children. Finally, after being adopted by the Fujiwara, Takashi decided to keep his ability a secret so that it may not cause any disturbance to his new home.
After receiving the Book of Friends from his grandmother Reiko and learning that it held spirits in servitude, Takashi decided to return the names found in the Book of Friends, and free the spirits. Takashi has a very strong spiritual power compared to other characters in the series.

Reiko Natsume
Just like her grandson Takashi, Reiko was considered strange due to her peculiar ability. Neglected by family and friends, Reiko turned to the spirits for companionship. She had an incredible spiritual power, capable of bullying the spirits to play with her. Eventually, she managed to make them give their names to her, and bounded these names into the Book of Friends, which was later then given to Takashi.

Madara, or Nyanko-sensei, was one of Reiko’s spirit friends. He is very powerful, and took the duty of protecting Takashi and occasionally advising him. Due to being sealed in a material form for a very long time, Madara takes the material shape of a lucky cat figure. Despite his protests that he is not a cat, he often enjoys playing with cat toys. Initially, Madara only wanted to have the Book of Friends for himself, but slowly grew to be attached to Takashi as they spent time together.

Seiji Matoba
A merciless and cold-hearted man, Seiji Matoba leads the Matoba clan, and does not hesitate in sacrificing youkai in order to reach his goals. He is usually seen with a bow and arrow, which he uses to eliminate youkai. He was once betrayed by someone from his clan, which caused the scar found on his right eye.

Season One Summary

Episode 1: The Cat and The Book of Friends
Natsume learns that the Book of Friends contains the names of youkai that his grandmother had defeated and bounded to her will. Now accompanied by Nyanko-sensei, Takashi decides to free the youkai and return the names to their rightful owners.

Episode 2: The Dew-God’s Small Shrine
A local village’s god asks Natsume for help, as he is in danger of disappearing due to the absence of devotees.

Episode 3: The Mysterious Person at The Eight Fields
Natsume is implored to help spirits who are currently being exorcised. Later, Natsume meets Tanuma, a boy who can sense the presence of youkai, but not powerful enough to see them.

Episode 4: Shigure and the Girl
Natsume’s secret is accidentally discovered by their class’ president, Sasada. Despite Natsume’s denial of his power, Sasada does not want to take no for an answer. She then takes him to an abandoned school to find a spirit.

Episode 5: Heart-Colored Ticket
Natsume finds an old train ticket that his grandmother had kept. He goes to the train station to find out why his grandmother kept it, and there he meets Santo, a slow-witted spirit who had been waiting there for Reiko the entire time.

Episode 6: Swallow at the Lake Bottom
Natsume is possessed by a swallow spirit, who desires to meet a human who had once helped her. Natsume agrees to help her, but later finds out that she can’t meet him due to being a spirit. Natsume then sets out to find a kimono which allows a spirit to take human form for a day.

Episode 7: The Little Fox’s Hat
While out on a relaxing trip to a hot spring, Natsume meets a friendly fox spirit.

Episode 8: Fleeting Light
Natsume meets a spirit who once had a human friend that could also see youkai, but one day lost his ability.

Episode 9: Ayakashi Exorcism
Natsume meets Natori Shuuichi, a famous actor and part-time exorcist.

Episode 10: Asagi’s Koto
Natsume is possessed by a sick koto player, who has a friend who wants her to play for the last time.

Episode 11: Nyanko’s Book of Boredom
Nyanko leaves Natsume and causes trouble wherever he goes.

Episode 12: Five-Day Mark
Natsume is cursed by an evil spirit who was bounded to a tree. Wishing to protect his family, Natsume decides to stay away from home.

Episode 13: Autumn Banquet
Natsume and Tanuma enjoys the autumn festival.

Anime Rating
1102 users rated this.
Watched By
Please login to post.
Copyright © 2024 AnimeCon.org and Ani.ME
Your use of this website is subject to the terms and conditions and privacy policy.